Metrics are at the heart of any successful online business. But it's one thing to have access to a ton of raw data scattered in several places, and another to have everything neatly organized and beautifully displayed right at your fingertips.
That's exactly what edrone's new General Overview dashboard does: it displays your eCommerce's most vital metrics, in real time and in one place.
Its purpose is to provide you with a quick assessment of your online store's health in any given period of time (day, week, month, quarter, year, or a custom range). After reading the results and comparing them with your business goals, you will be able to determine whether that period was successful or not, what's working in your strategy and what's not, and exactly how much value you're extracting out of edrone.
Click on the links below to jump straight to what you need, or keep reading to learn all about the new General Overview dashboard!
Main features, updates and constraints
The new dashboard was created based on our accumulated experience working with over 1000 online stores around the world, in-depth interviews with existing edrone users, Marketing Technology benchmarks and UX best practices.
It includes all the metrics that were previously available in edrone, as well as a few completely new ones such as CLV (Customer Lifetime Value), AOV (Average Order Value), contact base growth for email and push newsletters, Repeat Rate and Purchase Frequency.
Due to technical limitations, the new metrics were calculated using around 12–18 months of historical data before the dashboard was implemented. Data harvesting periods for each metric are described below:
Email subscribers are counted from the beginning of integration
Revenue from Engagements is calculated from data as far back as late 2019
Revenue from Marketing Machine is counted from March 2020
AOV is counted from March 18, 2020
CLV and its components are counted from April 17, 2020
Repeat Rate is counted from May 2020
Push subscribers are counted from April 2021
How to navigate the dashboard
To find your General Overview dashboard, log into your Mission Control and then go to REPORTS > GENERAL OVERVIEW.
We'll go into detail for each part of the dashboard, but there are a few common functionalities across all of them:
The dashboard is divided into cards and sections
All charts can be filtered by time using the calendar menu. Cards cannot be filtered by time.
The calendar menu allows for selection of a specific range, or predefined periods (last 7 days, last 30 days, etc).
Most charts contain a tooltip (the question mark icon) that explains the definition of a given metric.
You can customize the period granularity (days, weeks, months or years) of each chart by using the buttons at the bottom of each section.
Cards are the six metrics that appear right at the top of the dashboard:
Impact Rate: percentage of the total income that came from edrone's features.
Repeat Rate: percentage of customers in the database that made more than one purchase within the last 12 months, excluding multiple purchases made on the same day.
CLV (Customer Lifetime Value): represents the total amount of money a customer is expected to spend in your store during their lifetime.
Revenue: Total revenue registered by edrone.
AOV (Average Order Value): Average value of all orders placed. AOV = Revenue / number of orders.
Subscribers Growth: Increase in your email and push subscriber base, expressed in absolute numbers.
Cards are calculated based on the last 30 days, and compared to the previous period. For example, if you view your dashboard on June 30th, the cards will show you metrics from June 1st to June 30th and on the bottom of the card ("vs Last Month") these will be compared to the period from May 2nd to May 31st. The variation from one period to the other will be shown in percentages, with green arrows signaling an increase and red arrows signaling a decrease.
Since they are updated daily and have a fixed time frame, cards cannot be filtered.
The Impact Rate shows you the percentage of your store's total revenue that came from edrone's features. If your Impact Rate is 31.9%, it means that, for every $100 earned, $31.90 came from edrone's Engagements or Marketing Machine.
This section is divided into three parts. On the top, you will find three cards showing you the Attributed order value (revenue that came from edrone's features), Total order value (total revenue) and Impact Rate for the selected time period.
On the left, you will find the Revenue from email open, email click & Marketing Machine graph. This bar chart shows you the distribution of revenues by attribution time (up to 1h, up to 3h, up to 24h, up to 3 days, up to a week, up to a month), and each bar is divided into Marketing Machine, Email Click and Email Open attributions.
On the right, you will find the Revenue from attributed orders graph. This is a line chart showing revenue attribution times across the selected time period.
The attribution times represent the time between the moment attribution event (interaction with Marketing Machine, email open, email click) happened and the moment the order was placed.
CLV (Customer Lifetime Value)
This metric shows you the total amount of money a customer is expected to spend during their relationship with your store. This is calculated based on four metrics, which are by line graphs showing their evolution over time.
Purchase Frequency: how often, on average, a customer makes a purchase within a period of 12 months. PF = total order count / number of unique customers (previous 12 months)
AOV (Average Order Value): the name says it all. Users are divided into three groups: impacted by edrone; not impacted by edrone; and total. AOV = revenue / number of orders (previous 12 months)
Customer Value: average customer value over the past 12 months. CV = AOV × PF
Average Lifespan: the average duration of the customer's relationship with your store (i.e. the average time from the first purchase to the last), expressed in years. AL = (date of last purchase - date of first purchase) / unique customers
CLV = Average Order Value × Purchase Frequency × Average Lifespan
You will also find these metrics in table form right below the graphs:
Since these metrics are calculated based on the previous 12 months, they will give you a full picture after at least a year of integration with edrone.
This shows the percentage of customers that made more than one purchase within the last 12 months, excluding multiple purchases made on the same day.
Repeat Rate = Number of repeat customers / Total unique customers
Number of repeat customers: number of unique customers who bought more than once over the last 12 months.
Total unique customers: number of unique customers who bought at least once over the last 12 months
The Repeat Rate is divided into three groups:
Impacted by edrone (at least one order was attributed to edrone's Engagements or Marketing Machine)
Not impacted by edrone
These percentages are represented by individual bar graphs. You might notice that the Total percentage might be smaller than the Impacted by edrone or Not impacted by edrone. Let's illustrate why that happens using a practical example:
Let’s assume that, over the last 12 months, 100 customers have made a purchase in your store. 40 of them made at least one purchase attributed to edrone, and 60 were not attributed to edrone.
In the group of 40 customers who made at least one purchase thanks to edrone, 10 were repeat customers. Therefore, Repeat Rate = 10/40 = 25%.
In the group of 60 customers who made purchases without attribution, 5 were repeat customers. Therefore, Repeat Rate = 5/60 = 8.3%.
In this case, all repeat customers amount to 10 + 5 = 15. Therefore Total Repeat Rate = 15/100 = 15%.
Since this metric is calculated based on the previous 12 months, it will give you a full picture after at least a year of integration with edrone.
The line chart shows how the edrone subscriber base has changed over time, broken down into email subscribers and push message subscribers.
On the left side, you will find bar graphs showing changes in percentage, and on the right side, line graphs showing total subcribers in abolute numbers.
Revenue from emails
This metric represents revenues and orders obtained from edrone's emails based on 30-day attribution.
The chart shows bar graphs representing revenue and divided into edrone-impacted revenue and total revenue, as well as two line graphs representing total order numbers and edrone-impacted orders.
Revenue from Marketing Machine
This metric represents revenues and orders obtained from edrone's Marketing Machine based on 7-day attribution, and only accounts for identified customers.
Email attribution has precedence over Marketing Machine attribution. For example, if a user opens an email, goes to the store, clicks on a product from Marketing Machine and then places an order, the order will be attributed to email. If the user goes directly to the store and places an order after interacting with the Marketing Machine, that purchase will be attributed to MM.
The chart shows a bar graph representing edrone-impacted revenue and a line graph representing edrone-impacted orders.
This section shows the most profitable engagement scenarios for the selected date range. Each scenario is represented by two bar graphs, one for revenue and another for orders.
This section shows the most profitable campaigns for the selected date range. Each campaign is represented by two bar graphs, one for revenue and another for orders.
Need more help?
If you have any further questions about the General Overview dashboard, please do not hesitate to contact us at email@example.com